“i want to fly like an eagle”

Scotty was in Ma’s life for a long time, coming by whenever he wanted to get laid. Or maybe when he was hungry… or needed to wash some clothes… or needed to get away from his other girlfriend(s?).

Ma knew this about him; she knew she wasn’t his only lover. But she always opened the door and her legs to him.

One time she did the same for a friend he brought over as well.

I’ll never forget the summer day when I came home from working at the grocery store, and walked in on this strange dirty blonde haired guy sitting next to Ma on the small loveseat while Scotty sat on the couch. There was bottles of Jack and cans of Miller on the coffee table, overfull ashtrays, and the ceiling fan was on full speed.

As soon as I walked in through the front door, Scotty jumped up and swaggered over to me.

“Heyyy,” he sneered. “Can I talk to you for a second?”

I felt tipsy from the stench of his breath.

He grabbed my arm and led me out the patio door before I could answer. He sat down on the steps leading off the dilapidated deck and motioned for me to join him. I wasn’t sure what was going on so sit down I did. He started mumbling about something in his drunken stupor and I turned to look back toward the living room whereupon I saw Ma’s naked body straddling the dirty blonde haired dude on the loveseat.

Mortified, horrified, dumbfounded and befuddled, I immediately turned away to find a cigarette to light.

Scotty mumbled something about how Trent was about to have to go to prison and needed some comfort.

I felt like someone had punched me so hard that I fell to the ground and I was looking up at someone starting to fly into the air before stomping down on top of me.

I would be stampeded to death unless I could disappear.

 

Picture11-1

 

both trifecta and the daily prompt are to thank for inspiring this post.

23 thoughts on ““i want to fly like an eagle”

  1. KymmInBarcelona says:

    An uncomfortable read for an uncomfortable situation!
    Love that he turned away to find a cigarette to light. (I often wish I still smoked for that very reason.)

Leave a Reply

