Mirror, Mirror

When I look in the mirror, I generally smile back at what I see. Sure there are lots of silver-grays, sure there’s plenty of pudge and a double chin, sure there’s an eyebrow hair to pluck, but it’s all me. And I like me. I really do.

Wasn’t always this way though, and I think that makes me smile even more. It used to be that when I looked in the mirror, I’d cry. No hyperbole there. I cried a lot fifteen years ago. I was lonely. I was empty. When I looked in the mirror I wanted to know why I felt so alone, why I WAS so alone and empty.

Then I made a huge change (with the change of the century) and I started finally really living life instead of sitting on the sidelines. I realized life is what you make of it.

And my life is pretty damn good.

So yeah…when I look in the mirror I like what I see and smile. If I don’t, who else will?

______________________________________________________________________

inspired from
Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

by michelle w. on July 5, 2013

Finish this sentence: “When I look in the mirror, I . . . “

 

7 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. Good for you! Much of the way others perceive us is the way we perceive ourselves, so it’s important to be comfortable with who you are. Naturally, it’s much better for you as well. 🙂

    janet

Leave a Reply

